Late Fall/Early Winter Update

Well, it was an interesting first season.  The conditions were not that great and I had to water the trees a lot due to lack of rain.  The other tree I got from my friends is doing alright.  I thought it was going to die, lost all of it’s leaves, got them back, lost them again, got them back again, and stayed alive.  It has a very big curve in the top branch, so I am hoping to field graft a different apple stock on top of it this winter.  That will take some help from fellow orchardist Terry Moore.  I will need not only his expertise, but scions from his trees.

About a month ago, I was able to get my fencing up around the trees.  I haven’t had a ton of luck getting it to stay in place due to the wind, but the snow we got last week has really helped.  It’s more or less frozen in place for now.  I need to go pick the last of the leaves from the tree as they are long dead.  A hard frost we got in the latter part of fall killed them off.  Or at least I think they did because the leaves turned brown after that.  Hard frost was the name of the game this year!

Last week, I was talking to my friend’s father in law about planting some trees.  He wants to plant a few trees this spring and had a few questions for me about them.  Mainly, how far apart do you plant them?  I told him it’s based on rootstock and pruning techniques.  Also, I gave him some links and the name of a book that should help him get all the information he could need.

That’s about all the update I have for now.  Once I get the braeburn tree grafted to a new type, I will update on how I did that.

Leave a Reply

