It’s Been A While

I know it’s been over a month since I last updated.  Not a whole lot has been going on.  I did get another tree from a friend who was going to toss it out, but I didn’t water it as much as I should have initially, so it’s pretty brown.  I’ve been diligently watering it now so I’m hoping it lives.  My plan is to graft different apples on the ends so it will give me some variety when I go to harvest.

Also, I tilled the area again.  It looks better with no grass and weeds growing.  The same guy who gave me the tree is also giving me a bunch of mulch.  I plan on covering as much as I can with the mulch I get, after I put a nice ring around each of the trees.  All of the trees (except the mystery tree that I was given) look great.  Even the Northern Spy, which I had figured was dead, has leaved out and is doing well.  It leaved out in the past three weeks or so.  Terry Moore from Moore Orchards in Midland told me that his Northern Spies took 16 years to come to fruition.  I hope that’s not the case.  My daughter will be getting ready to graduate high school by the time I get some apples!

We are planning on planting some things in the middle of the trees this weekend.  I will be putting in some pumpkins and maybe another plant or two.  It should help with everything and make it look more like a garden than some tiny trees.

I’ve named another one of my trees.  The Ashmead’s Kernel will be named CRog, after Charles Rogers.  I named it that because of the apple itself.  They say that when this apple is on, it’s fantastic.  Conversely, when it’s a bad year, the apples are pretty bad.  Seems like Charles Rogers to me!  When he was good, he was amazing.  When he was off, all you could do is shake your head and asked what happened.

Leave a Reply

